• Sabi Sabi

    Photo credit by Sabi Sabi Game Reseve, Kruger National Park, South Africa

  • Tswalu

    Photo credit by Amakhala Game Reserve, Eastern Cape, South Africa

  • IMG_3851

    Photo credit by !Khwa ttu San Culture and Education Centre, Western Cape, South Africa

  • Amakhala

    Amakhala Game Reserve, Eastern Cape, South Africa

Entries for 2014 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards are now open

The world’s leading sustainable tourism awards, the World Travel & Tourism Council’s (WTTC) Tourism for Tomorrow Awards, have been updated and revised, with two new categories added in time for the call for entries, now open for 2014.

In their tenth year under WTTC stewardship, the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards, have been changed to reflect the broadening scope of WTTC’s sustainability agenda. There are now six award categories, with the addition of two entirely new awards to recognize the areas of human resources and innovation. The six categories are:

•    Business Award
•    Community Award
•    Destination Award
•    Environment Award
•    Innovation Award (new award)
•    People Award (new award)

There will be no change to the judging process which has made the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards the gold-standard of sustainable tourism awards: an Independent Chairman of Judges, a rigorous three-step judging process involving up to 22 independent expert judges from all around the world, and on-site evaluations of all award finalists.

Launching the 2014 Awards at the WTTC Asia Summit in Seoul, David Scowsill, President & CEO of WTTC explained: “Ensuring the long-term sustainable growth of our industry is probably the biggest challenge we face. The challenge here is not just doing the right thing for the environment, but for our people and the businesses they work in. We recognize that the successful businesses of tomorrow will be those which balance a commitment to the planet, with people and profits. That’s why we have enlarged the scope of the Tourism for Tomorrow Awards to include new categories and have also revised the existing categories. This will result in a greater number of businesses being recognized as being the very best in sustainable tourism without the Awards losing the rigorous judging process for which they are rightly renowned.”

For more information click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Copyright © 2019 Sustainable Tourism Alliance Africa.