• Sabi Sabi

    Photo credit by Sabi Sabi Game Reseve, Kruger National Park, South Africa

  • Tswalu

    Photo credit by Amakhala Game Reserve, Eastern Cape, South Africa

  • IMG_3851

    Photo credit by !Khwa ttu San Culture and Education Centre, Western Cape, South Africa

  • Amakhala

    Amakhala Game Reserve, Eastern Cape, South Africa

RETOSA article: The Tourist Visa (UNIVISA)

Tourism has the potential to become one of Southern Africa’s largest industries and to alleviate many of the economic problems of the SADC region. To achieve its tourism potential, SADC combines private and public sector efforts to promote the region as a world-class tourism destination. The region’s tourist draw cards include wildlife, a rich variety of wilderness areas and natural wonders of the world, sandy beaches, mountain ranges and a rich historical and cultural heritage which straddle across national borders.

The Tourism sector believes that a single VISA (UNIVISA) for SADC will considerably improve ease of travel and the flow of visitors to and within the region.

The Sector recognizes that any mechanism that can facilitate the entry of international and domestic tourists to the region, and specifically to SADC countries, can create extremely positive economic benefits for the performance of those countries, especially in terms of job creation, financial impact, (i.e. revenue to the tourism sector and balance of payments improvement), fiscal revenue and growth in national GDP.

The Role of RETOSA therefore is to encourage the relevant sectors in the region to;

  1. Establish a tourism VISA (UNIVISA) which will facilitate movement of international tourists in to the region in order to increase the market share and revenue of the region in world tourism.
  2. Have visa requirements for regional tourists who wish to enter their territory as visitors, abolished or waived (VISA Exemption)

Status of VISA requirements in the region


Visa Required by

Visas Required from

Angola Botswana, DRCongo, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe
Botswana Angola, DR Congo, Madagascar
DR Congo Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia
Lesotho Angola, DR Congo
Madagascar Angola, Botswana, DRCongo, Malawi, Mauritius, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe
Malawi Angola, DR Congo
Mauritius Angola, DR Congo
Mozambique Angola, DR Congo, Madagascar
Namibia DR Congo, Madagascar
South Africa Angola, DR Congo, Madagascar, Tanzania, Zimbabwe
Swaziland Angola, DR Congo
Tanzania Angola, DR Congo, Madagascar, South Africa
Zambia Angola, DR Congo, Madagascar
Zimbabwe Angola


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Copyright © 2019 Sustainable Tourism Alliance Africa.